International Women’s Day

(A poem I wrote several years ago, in response to the Black Woman’s Creed)

The Black Man’s Creed
I have looked hard enough to see
I have looked hard enough to hear
I have looked hard enough to find

I have seen your strength and courage
I have heard your echoes of pain and struggles for freedom
I have found your name etched in the very fabric of time

You are a warrior, a healer, a Queen
A mother, a sister, an auntie, a friend

You cannot be defeated, You cannot be stopped
You have stood strong and tall.

In acknowledgment I make this creed in your honor.

Dark eye’s filled with the shadows of my forefathers.
If you look hard enough,
you will see I’m history’s past and future’s hope.
I am here to stake our claim on this world,
to let the children stand on my shoulders.

If you look hard enough you will see
the strength needed and the courage required.
The world has been built on the backs of my fathers, and will be shaped by my hands.
My spirit will make a way out of no way,
In a home that is not my home.

If you look hard enough you will hear,
the bold statements of my existence and
the irony of my laughter, for I am destiny.
With every fight for validation, every warm embrace,
and sweet triumph, I will be felt.

If you look hard enough you will find my name.
Each generation will hear my name,
but only those who now me
will be able to whisper we are the same.

I am a warrior, a champion, a healer, a King
a Father, a brother, an uncle, a son, a friend.
The song of my soul shall fill this world
with a declaration oh so strong.
You cannot defeat me! You cannot stop me!
Because i will stand strong and tall!

If you look hard enough you will finally
see me holding my sistah’s hand, and children hanging from my shoulder’s and back.
For I am the truth, the legacy, and the key,
but most of all I am HOPE.

By Thomas Toney

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “International Women’s Day

  1. This is one of those posts on which there can be a healthy discussion,as i too do not support your this idea entirely.

Thoughts?

