Encouraging notes on fear…

Below is a note I sent to a dear brother of mine some time ago, as they did for me upon reading them again, I hope to someone they will serve some purpose.

“Fear is an emotion indispensable for survival.” -Hannah Arendt

Fear is omnipresent
everyone is afraid,
but how you respond to that fear is the question.
We survive or perish based on our responses to fear.
Own your fear, and become stronger and the better for it

“Let us not look back in anger or forward in fear, but around in awareness.” -Aristotle

Why regress by looking back with anger and regret?
Why stand still by looking forward with fear?
Instead look around with awareness…
Awareness of both the circumstances of your past, and the fear and uncertainty of your future.
Let the simultaneous realization of both transform how you perceive yourself and others and act accordingly.

“And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our fear, our presence automatically liberates others” -Marianne Williamson

Being liberated from fear does not mean one has transcended its touch
one merely has to embraced it and walk with it hand and hand fully acknowledging you faults and strengths as a man
for only in this awareness may one be liberated
and thus one becomes an example to another if not others.

-On a more personal note… Coming from a poor family in a poor community in one of the most dangerous cities in America, and finding myself in a collegiate environment… the more I experience and change I fear I distance myself from my roots and my home, yet the more I cling to that young wild nigga from the streets of Youngstown, I fear I may never be accepted anywhere but the Yo…. yet in my fear and stubbornness I am more afraid of losing either, so I instead choose to exist in both. I am still that same young wild nigga yet at the same time for what I have and will achieve I am embraced by many. For fear is still there, it just doesn’t control me. For fear is the enemy n I keep my enemies nearer, thus fear and I walk hand and hand, like rivaled brothers, constantly negotiating which way to go and how to act… for some days he wins, but sometimes I win, but believe me in the end, fighting I feel is much better than giving in.

So  do not ever feel ashamed or different or like an outcast because of fear. Trust we are all afraid. And you know if you need anything, even just to talk… just hit me up

Tagged , , , ,

Thoughts?

